Course Editing: In-depth

Restoring a Previous Revision

When you are editing content in the znanja LMS, accidents can happen. Sometimes it is easiest to restore a page or even an entire course to a previous revision.

When you choose to restore your page or course to a previous revision, all of the content in that page or course will be updated, including the table of contents, text, images, audio, questions, branding, and more.

 

How to Restore a Page to a Previous Revision

1.               

Start by navigating to the page you want to revise, and enter the course editor: 

 

 

2.               

Click Options from the upper toolbar:

 

 

3.               

Then click Page revisions:

 

 

4.               

On this page, you will see a slider as well as the Next and Previous buttons. Dragging the slider to the right or clicking the Next button will allow you to scroll through previous revisions of this page:

Note: The most recent 25 revisions can be used.

 

 

5.               

As you scroll through revisions you will notice the date and time indicator changing. You can use this to identify the revision you want to restore:

 

 

6.               

For those familiar with developer tools, you will also see a display of the HTML code for the page revision being viewed. The code for the current page is displayed on the left, and the code for the selected revision is on the right:

The differences will be highlighted.

 

 

7.               

Once you have identified the revision you want to restore, click Restore at the bottom of the page:

 

 

8.               

The change will be made. You can navigate back to the page in the editor by clicking Return to the Page Editor:

 

 

9.               

You will see the change reflected on the page:

 

 

 

 

 

How to Restore a Course to a Previous Revision

1.

To restore an entire course, start by navigating to your course list by clicking Courses then My Courses:

 

 

2.

Then find the course you want to revise and open the dropdown menu next to it:

 

 

3.

Now, click Course Revisions:

 

 

4.

You will see a list of all the revisions in a course. Click Restore next to the revision you want to use:

 

 

5.

A message will appear asking you to confirm your choice. Clicking the Restore button will restore the course to that revision:

Note: All pages in the course will be updated, including the table of contents, which may affect a student’s progress.

 

 

6.

When you re-enter the course, you will see the revision reflected on the pages.